March Weather in Iowa

What is with the weather!!!??!!!  I knew it was going to snow, but I was hoping it’d be like last week; it snowed for a couple of hours and whatever was able to cling to the ground melted after a couple more hours.  I’m hoping the forecast for the next couple of days will do the job.

 

On the bright side, I felt much better today.  Instead of getting up and heading to the gym in the dark, I chose an extra hour of sleep.  Hopefully it helps!  The challenge is always getting myself to the gym after a day at work.  That’s why I’m usually up at the crack of dawn!

Got my day started off with a great breakfast…oatmeal, a tablespoon of agave nectar for that extra sweetness, and half of a green apple.  And of course a glass of milk on the side to take my vitamins with.  Normally I’m not a green apple person because of the tartness, but every once in a while I just can’t resist.

 

Lunch was more about cleaning up some things in the fridge.  Ever since trying a burger at Big City Burger and Greens in a lettuce wrap, I’ve been inspired to do more lettuce wraps on my own.  It’s hard to tell, but that’s green cabbage wrapped around some turkey, red peppers, mozzarella cheese, and roasted red pepper hummus. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the best (and worst) parts of my job is all the tasty treats floating around the Capitol during the Legislative Session.  Groups are constantly bringing in breakfast, lunches, and desserts.  Today was REC (Rural Electric Cooperative) Day and boy, did they bring some good ones!

Already missing from the photo (because I ate it so quickly) were the chocolate chip cookie bars.  Those are something my mom made when I was growing up and they’ll always hold a special place in my heart.  Sometimes I get more excited about those than I do chocolate chip cookies.  Yes, yes, I know the only difference is the shape, but sometimes the bars are just that much thicker and if you do them just right (like today’s little delight) they are super gooey and just oh, so, good!

 

I just had to indulge and enjoy some chocolate dipped strawberries and a small M&M cookie. Perfect little afternoon snack!

I did it! I made it to the gym and got in all 6 miles. Not the best run I’ve ever had on a treadmill, but to keep me company I’m working on my first book on tape, Born to Run.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

An excellent book, but I’m definitely not good at listening to books on tape.  I end up having to rewind over and over because my mind begins to wander.  I think I’ll end up reading this as a book, since it’s definitely interesting!  Do you listen to books on tape?

And a pretty picture to leave you with this evening…no more snow!

2 Comments

Filed under FITNESS, FOOD, LEARN

2 responses to “March Weather in Iowa

  1. Pingback: The Marathon and How I’m Training | Iowa Farm Girl

  2. Pingback: The Recovery Continues | Iowa Farm Girl

Leave a Reply

