Farmers Market, Food, Football, and a Film

What a fantastic Saturday with my parents!!!  How I wish I could have more days like this!

Mom and I headed to meet Shelly at the Cedar Rapids Downtown Farmer’s Market.  Not knowing what to expect, I was pleasantly surprised.  It was larger than I expected and had quite a variety of vendors.  We made the rounds, checking out all our options before making any purchases. 

We started with dessert (or maybe breakfast?) – an apple turnover for me and a cherry one for Shelly.  Mom sampled a bite of mine…yum 🙂

We ran into a friend from high school who has now started their own vegetable and fruit farm, keeping it pesticide and herbicide free, supplying healthy food choices to the community and it’s restaurants.  I was so impressed I forgot to take photos of all the delicious vegetables offered by Bass Farms.  Check out their blog for more information and some tasty recipes!

Next it was time for lunch.  While we had a longer than expected wait, good conversation was had before Mom and I shared a cheese steak sandwich from the Cheesesteak and Chili Stand.  It was good, but I think I’d try something new the next time. 

On the drive home I couldn’t help but notice what a beautiful day it was!  These photos are definitely going in the stock file for future posts.

With a half marathon race the next morning, I figured it wouldn’t be the smartest choice to spend my day in Iowa City celebrating with other Hawkeye fans.  Next best choice?  Enjoying it with my dad sitting in the comfort of their living room. 

Off to a good start with a 37-7 point win over Eastern Illinois.  Go Hawkeyes! 

Dinner with Mom and Dad and brother #4 was more of a smorgasbord.  We started with a baguette, some garlic olive oil, and an assortment of spice combinations for sampling.

Leave it to me (again) to get so excited about dinner I forget to take another photo.  We had some steak, salmon, sweet potatoes, broccoli, and since I started my day with dessert, I thought it was appropriate to end it in the same fashion – with a tastly Buster Bar.

Since I started my job last December, I am constantly teased for both my lack of movie knowledge and my lack of general pop culture knowledge.  I’ve got the basics and I can hold my own during conversations with friends my age, but when I checking out a list of popular movies, songs, and television shows from the past fifty years…let’s just say I wouldn’t have gotten very far on The World Series of Pop Culture.  (Yes, it took a Google search to find a good line and a game show example). 

As part of my attempt to expand that knowledge, Grant has graciously added me to his Netflix account and I am slowly, but surely working my way down a list of 400+ movies and television shows.  One of these days I’ll get around to updating my i-pod with those Billboard Top 100 lists from the past 20 years or more.

Back to the point – to cap off my evening with my parents, we watched my current Netflix movie, Hotel Rwanda.  What a powerful movie and I wouldn’t be surprised if brother #4 decided to join the Peace Corps someday.

Leave a comment

Filed under FOOD

Leave a Reply

