Racing through the East Village

It’s Sunday and sadly the weekend is coming to an end.  Not without some excitement in the East Village. 

This past spring, I finally took the plunge and bought myself a bicycle.  I’ve been considering it and talking about it for a couple of years now.  I knew I wanted a road bike and I even went as far as getting measured for a bike and having one all picked out.  After getting a tip from a friend about the Annual Bike World Warehouse Sale, I decided I’d go check it out.  What do you know…they had the exact bike I had planned to get a year or so earlier!  So I bought it and I’m so happy I did. 

Unfortunately, with all this running, I haven’t had a ton of time to spend riding it.  I get out occasionally and as soon as October 17th is over, I have vowed to spend more time with a helmet on my head.

After I bought the bike, I realized I don’t have many friends who bike, so with a suggestion from women in the RED Hots Running group, I joined the VeloRosa Cycling Team.  What an amazing group of women!  I’ve never regretted the couple of times I’ve had time to spend with the group.  All skill levels, a variety of goals, and most importantly they’re helpful and welcoming. 

So Sunday, I was able to spend a few hours manning the E. 6th and Locust Street corner during the East Village Criterium.  I met some new VeloRosa members and their significant others, learned a few things about bike races, got a little sun, and left inspired to find time for my bike this week.  Hopefully I can make it out for the Wine Ride on Thursday!

Leave a comment

Filed under FITNESS, VOLUNTEER

Leave a Reply

